Moving to US and joining the club
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Damon M Lazar
just got my forum ID

1 Posts

Posted - 01/05/2014 :  15:35:57  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I'm a driving enthusiast moving to US from Europe. I'd like to join the club and to participate in the events throughout the year. Before I sign up, it would be great if you could clarify a few things for me:

1. How many days a year one can participate realistically if one is based in New York? I've checked the Calendar and it seems most events are quite far, e.g. Florida / Alabama / Louisiana. Is it common for members to ship cars e.g. by truck across the country? And what's the split between weekend / weekdays events?

2. Can I join as an experienced driver without prior membership? I have several years of experience of amateur racing back home, mostly track days and some local competitions - both time trials and competitive. I currently own Mazda MX-5 (Miata) and race it at least several weekends per season. However I don't think I can provide extensive supporting documents as most track days are not documented here. I would still like to take advantage of instructors as tracks would be new for me.

3. Which classes are there and which one is most fun / competitive? As I mentioned, I have a Mazda MX-5 back here but not bringing it to the US. I'm thinking about getting another MX-5 or a Toyota GT-86 or maybe a 2nd hand Cayman / Boxter or a Lotus Elise. However I read there are some restrictions on convertibles, and I would like to avoid extensive modifications and I'm going to use the car as road going as well. Which cars would be best match for the events?

Big fat tires and everything...

The management
admin/chief tire changer

1012 Posts

Posted - 01/07/2014 :  15:00:07  Show Profile  Visit The management's Homepage  Reply with Quote